School Board Recognition picture

Spearman ISD celebrates School Board Recognition Month this January 

January is School Board Recognition Month and Spearman ISD is honored to celebrate its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district’s schools and students. 

“Our school board members are selfless volunteers who spend long hours working to ensure all of our students have the opportunity to learn and grow,” Superintendent Mr. Dan Gist said. “Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.” 

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools.  

“School boards are essential to a strong public education system,” Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Executive Director Dan Troxell said. “They provide the local governance and oversight that makes it possible for school districts to serve students, including establishing a strategic plan, adopting policies, approving a budget and selecting and evaluating a superintendent. It’s fitting that we celebrate them in January as their leadership is key to the success of every school district in Texas.” 

Board members serving Spearman ISD are: 

             Dr. Mark Garnett, Board President

            Stephen Batton, Vice President

             Samantha Wilkerson, Secretary

             Michael Lusby, Member

             Mike Pearson, Member

             Chad Riggins, Member

            Clancy Vanderburg, Member 

Learn more about school board service at